Personal
Most people$29
was $49
Yours forever, on 2 Macs. Updates for a year.
Comparison
The other local, buy-once Mac tool
The short answer
Flit and SpeakMac agree on the things that matter most: both transcribe on your Mac, both are bought once with 12 months of updates, and neither wants an account. They part on depth. Flit reads your open project so spoken file names come out spelled the way your repo spells them, applies a different style per app, covers 99 languages rather than 25, and resolves more than 60 spoken commands by fixed rule instead of leaving them to a model. SpeakMac is $29 for a single Mac and reaches Intel and macOS 13, so on an older machine that is the one that fits. Flit is $49 for 2 Macs, and if dictation is what you do all day it is the one built for the all-day case.
| | SpeakMac | |
|---|---|---|
| Where transcription happens | Your Mac | Your Mac |
| Price | $49 once, up to 2 Macs | $29 once (1 Mac), $39 (2 Macs) |
| Updates included | 12 months, then $19 only if you want more | 12 months |
| App keeps working after that | Forever | Yes |
| Account required | No | No |
| Requirements | macOS 14+, Apple silicon | macOS 13+, Apple silicon or Intel |
| Languages | 99, all local | 25, plus optional packs |
| Text appears as you speak | Yes | Not stated |
| Style rule per app | Yes | Not stated |
| Knows your codebase | Indexes it locally | Not stated |
| Spoken punctuation commands | About 60, fixed rules | Not stated |
| Records meetings | No | Yes, with speaker labels |
Compared against SpeakMac’s own published information. “Not stated” means they do not publish that detail. Prices change, so confirm before you buy.
In fairness
Listed because they are true. SpeakMac keeps your words on your Mac exactly as Flit does, so this was never going to be an argument about trust. It is about what happens after the audio: how many languages, how precisely the text is shaped, and whether the tool knows what you are working on.
Most comparisons on this site turn on where your audio goes. This one does not: SpeakMac keeps it on your Mac, charges once, and asks for no account, exactly as Flit does. Inventing a difference there would be dishonest. The split is reach against depth. SpeakMac runs on more Macs and covers more jobs. Flit takes the one job further, which is the trade worth making if dictation is most of your typing.
This one is a genuine tie and we are not going to manufacture a gap. Both products include a year of updates and both keep working afterwards. The difference is what happens next: Flit states the renewal up front at $19 for another year, and taking it is entirely optional. Skip it and nothing happens, because the license is permanent and the app has no server to check with.
Meeting Mode records a conversation, labels who spoke, and gives you a searchable transcript. Flit does none of that and is not going to: it is live dictation, you hold a key and speak. If meeting transcripts are on your list, buy something that does them. It is a different job from making your typing 4 times faster, and Flit is built entirely for the second one.
Choose Flit if
dictation is what you do all day and you want it shaped precisely: more languages, code that spells itself, and a different register per app.
Join the waitlist7 days free · $29 once, up to 2 Macs · macOS 14 or later · Apple silicon
Choose SpeakMac if
you are on an Intel Mac or macOS 13, you need meeting recordings, or $20 decides it.
SpeakMac: by $20 on one Mac and by $10 on two, since it is $39 for 2 Macs and Flit is $49 for 2. What the difference buys is 74 more languages, a codebase index that spells your file names correctly, and a style rule per app.
Yes. Both transcribe locally and neither requires an account. This is the rare comparison on this site where privacy is not what separates the two, which is why the rest of the page is about what happens to the text after the audio is handled.
No. Flit is live dictation only: hold a key, speak, and text appears at your cursor. It does not record, does not take audio files, and has no speaker separation. SpeakMac does all three.
No. Flit needs Apple silicon, because the speech and formatting models are bound to the Neural Engine and Metal. That is also why it lands text in about 0.7 seconds. SpeakMac states Intel support, so on an Intel Mac it is the one that runs.
Pricing
You will buy Flit once and it is yours permanently, on up to 2 Macs, with 12 months of updates. No subscription, no account, no upsell.
Launch pricing
First 100 licenses
Once they are gone, Personal steps to $39, then $49. Lifetime goes to $99.
Personal
Most people$29
was $49
Yours forever, on 2 Macs. Updates for a year.
Lifetime
$79
was $99
Yours forever, on 2 Macs. Every update, forever.
Not on sale yet. These are the prices Flit will launch at. macOS 14 or later · Apple silicon. 7 days free first, no card, and a 30-day refund.
Both include
Team
Per Mac$195
$39 per Mac, once, with a year of updates. One key for everyone.
$34 per Mac from 10.
More than 50? Let us talk.
How a team license works
12 months of updates, one renewal date for the whole key.
macOS 14 or later · Apple silicon
Questions? The pricing page answers the usual ones. If a future major version is ever a paid upgrade, you will hear it from us before you pay for anything.
Still deciding?
Flit vs Wispr Flow
The subscription leader, in the cloud
Flit vs Superwhisper
A powerful local toolbox, at a price
Flit vs Spokenly
Free, cross-platform, cloud on the upsell
Flit vs VoiceInk
Open source, local, and cheaper
Flit vs FluidVoice
Free, open source, local-first
Flit vs Snaply
Free, local, and does meetings too